SURPRISE!

Yesterday my mother, aunt and awesome friends planned a surprise lunch as a last get together before I leave for Pittsburgh! I was so thrilled to have the opportunity to see so many of the people I love one last time. It was one of those days that remind me I’m not lucky, I’m blessed. The support of my family and friends is humbling and rejuvenating. It is definitely hitting me now how much I will miss my family, my roommates (C8 gets their own category) and friends during these next few months. Big shout out to my incredible mother and Colleen who made it all happen! Thank you endlessly.  

Today I spent shopping for some work clothes and toiletries and now I am beginning to tackle packing…. My constant desire for over-preparedness is really clashing with the simple living I am supposed to be embracing. 

If you are wondering what I mean by “simple living” it is essentially what it sounds like, but the reason behind its importance is what truly matters. In living simply this year, through budget and lifestyle, my housemates and I will have the opportunity to focus more on our service work, each other and our faith if so desired. Simple living asks us to live in solidarity with those we are serving by living in the neighborhood of those we serve and living with similar budgets. I was attracted to the concept of living simply on this year because of all the incredible experiences Saint Anselm was able to provide for me. Through experiences like Road for Hope, Spring Break Alternative and Food Clothing and Furniture Drive, I was able to dip my toes into the concept of living simply, the value of humility and the power of genuine solidarity. As I move forward in my life, I hope to take advantage of this experience throughout the year and use to to shape how I live the rest of my life. 

Leave a Reply

